Are you related to Ansel Adams?

Ha, your name is awesome.

Oh, wow, your name is like that guys, um, um, he took pictures or something.

Did your parents realize this when they were naming you?

Are you related to Ansel Adams?

Everytime I go to a library, meet someone for the first time, visit the doctor, dentist, or optometrist, or fill my name in a form that someone will see I either get one of these questions or any of a hundred or so more asked to me all because my name is Adam Ansel.

Adam Ansel.

Not Ansel Adams.

See, they’re reversed. Someone with the last name Ansel isn’t related to someone with the last name Adams. And no, my parents had no clue who he was when they named me. I was named Adam because I was their firstborn. I first found out about him in seventh grade. But now that I live in California, where the man himself lived and took his famous pictures, I deal with this on a near daily basis.

I try to take it with humor and laugh like it’s the first time I’ve ever heard that and they’re the first person to ever ask me about it (because they certainly think they are).

With the popularity of Facebook I decided to see if there was anyone else out there who was in the same conundrum as I was and sure enough, there were two other Adam Ansel’s on Facebook. The three of us became friends and shared about all the times people think we must be the grandson of Ansel. But Ansel is my last name, it was his first name!

I’m not really complaining, because it is a good conversation starter and can break the ice, I decided I would share it with all of you, so you can share in the situation with me. But if someone who I know reads this and then still asks me if I’m related to Ansel Adams – watch out!

One comment on “Are you related to Ansel Adams?

  1. Craig Dean says:

    Wait, so let me get thi straight… You’re NOT related to Ansel Adams????

Leave a Reply

