If I Had You

It’s the first of February and spring is knocking at my door

So I pack my bags for summer and head home once more

It’s been a long, hard, cold winter here without you

So I pack my bags for summer but I guess spring will do

Cause I don’t know where I’d be if you were here with me

And I don’t know what I’d do if I had you

She said it’s only gonna last for a little while, time will pass and so will I

You’ll be gone before you know it

You walk away from someone’s reflection and they fade away into this great big world like a train riding into the setting sun

I awake up in the city homeless in the streets of my depression, the winter sets in

Hitching across America is not fine for me anymore

The Salt Lake mountains are the backdrop for my melancholy ways

Here the snow is ten feet deep and I can barely see the sky, feel the rain, look upon the sun and see your face

There’s a coldness in my soul that the brightest day could not warm up

I long to see your face, I long to hear your voice

Cause I don’t know where I’d be if you were here with me

And I don’t know what I’d do if I had you

3 comments on “If I Had You

  1. Kelly says:

    Did you write this? I like it, there should be music to it.

Leave a Reply

