Qui for dinner

I recently became the owner of 3 guinea pigs – Benjamin, Theodore, and Francesca. They are cute and adorable but I forgot that not too long ago, 2007 to be exact, in Ecuador I ate Qui for dinner.

Qui is what they call guinea pigs in Ecuador. They BBQ them and then use scissors to cut them up. I was a bit hesitant but hey, you have to try new things so I bit into the piece I was given and it was super tough and not tasty at all. Not to mention, the guinea pigs who were still alive were watching from the cage nearby, I was eating their friend.

So now everytime I look at my squeaking, cute guinea pigs, I see them BBQ’d on a stick. Maybe I should stick with dogs.

Leave a Reply

