A Facebook sized failure

Last month I made the epic (although I didn’t quite know how epic at the time) decision to write all of my Facebook friends within the first month of turning 30. It would be a way to re-connect, to reach out and say hello, to actually use Facebook to connect with people. October 27th came and I started the Facebook challenge. I started writing people and found out it was quite difficult to write some people. I have some “friends” who I haven’t seen in years and who technically aren’t friends and I just didn’t know where to begin, so I just promoted the blog. Other people who are actual current friends were easy to write because I do often anyway. I churned along through all the letter “A’s” and it took longer than expected. I started working my way through the “B’s” and as the days went by I understood that this undertaking would take much longer than a month and would be much more difficult than I had planned. So I took a break. I still plan on finishing the Facebook experience, I still plan on writing all my “friends”, it is just going to take a lot longer than a month. Would that be considered a failure?

2 comments on “A Facebook sized failure

  1. Nic says:

    The fact that you even had the idea and began such a task is a victory in my eyes Adam! Kudos to you…

  2. Jess says:

    Great idea! …sometimes its hard to find time just to comment back to a few people…messaging everyone would probably take me a year 🙂
    BTW- always enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

