I was in a band once – Part 1: Strummer

The audience had left, the smoke began to clear, but my ears were still ringing…then I woke up.

I was in my own home, it was 5:30 am, and I had to go to work. I wasn’t a rock star, I wasn’t a radio hero, I wasn’t even a local coffee shop favorite, I was a “pick-up my guitar once in a while” kind of guy. But that wasn’t always the case….I was in a band once.

A long time ago, when I was a younger man with a lot more hair (and a tongue piercing) I lived in Florida and was in a band called Faintly Macabre. There were 4 of us: drums, lead guitar, and then another guy and I sang and switched off on bass, rhythm guitar, mandolin, piano, and even the spoons. But let me not get ahead of myself, my music career didn’t begin with Faintly Macabre, it started a few years earlier when I was still in high school.

P.O.G. (Peace of God) started out of a need for a worship team at our youth group. I had never played an instrument before but I volunteered to learn the bass guitar, so I bought one and taught myself. After a while I realized it was kind of boring to sit at home and play the bass (it’s not really a solo instrument) so I bought an acoustic guitar and taught myself to play that as well.

There were 3 of us in P.O.G. and we all played the acoustic guitar. We played together for a few years, mostly just at church services, but then I moved away to college and an interesting thing happened. I had always learned to play songs but I had never written a song of my own, but during my first semester at college in Florida a friend of mine asked me to write a song for her. A few night’s later I was in my dorm rooming, strumming my guitar and then I found a chord sequence that I liked, then I began to hum a melody, then words fell off my lips and after a while I had composed my first song. And with that song, a new chapter in my musical career had begun.

Leave a Reply

