Look Askance

I’ve been branded a white man

By everyone except my own children

Who see me as black

Just as they are

I’ve been branded an American

Hated by the world

Until they take the time to see

That I might actually be worth something

I’ve been branded an outcast

For rejecting the teachings of this old world

And following after a man

Who was killed by his peers

Though my skin is different, my eyes are the same

And what you see – is not really me

For you see-

You’ve branded me a white man

Leave a Reply

