10 years in sunny California

10 years ago today on March 12, 2000 I first stepped foot in California. Little did I know that I would be spending a lot of time there in the years to come. In the 10 years since then I have lived here in southern California for the past 3 and spent a little over a year traveling around California with various children’s choirs. I dug out my journal from that trip so long ago and thought I would post my original journal entry from March 12, 2000. Enjoy!

March 12, 2000

“I LOVE CALIFORNIA! We are here in San Diego. It looks like it might rain. Yesterday I watched the sun rise over the Texas desert and today over the California hills. Just walked to the Pacific Ocean. It was one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen in my life. My first glimpse of the Pacific, millions of stars overhead, I let the frigid water cover my naked toes. I have found a home.”

Little did I know how true that last statement would be. California was always a mystical land to me while growing up and now it’s home.

One comment on “10 years in sunny California

  1. taybeee says:

    I love this. I want to move to California so bad but I’m waiting 3 more years for that college degree! It’s so beautiful out there and this post makes me so anxious!

Leave a Reply

